Making It Happen Award

Making IT Happen is an internationally recognized awards program for educators and leaders in the field of educational technology integration in K–12 schools. The program identifies and rewards educational technology leaders around the world for their commitment and innovation. The program is coordinated by the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE).

Nominations may be made to the Board of Directors who will vote on all nominations.  Recipients will be recognized at the VSTE Annual Conference according to ISTE guidelines. The award will only be given if the nominee meets the criteria set by ISTE. You can learn more about the award at the website.

Since its inception, the program has grown into an internationally recognized awards program highlighting the dramatic role various educators, from the Secretary of Education to the classroom teacher, play in the learning process using high quality technology in the classroom.  Since the program’s inception in 1995, more than 300 pink jackets (black for men) have been awarded to outstanding educational leaders!

VSTE has nominated the following winners:

Janet Copenhaver (2015)

Mano Talaiver (2015)

Bill Warrick (2013)

John Hendron (2012)

Janene Gorham (2011)

Daniel Arkin (2009)

Barrie Owen (2009)